August 2018

August 10, 2018
PhD student Xin Liu won a poster award at the 2018 Neuroelectronic Interfaces--Gordon Research Conference in March of this year in Galveston, Texas. Her poster was on "Fabrication of a Multilayer Implantable Cortical Microelectrode Probe to Improve Recording Potential" and she won one of ten (out of eighty total) poster presentations.  She will receive a certificate and a monetary award.  Xin is advised by Professor Jeff Zahn in BME.

July 2018

July 2, 2018
Professor Martin Yarmush and Dr. Alex Golberg from Tel Aviv University were awarded a 4-year $270,000 US-Israel BSF grant to develop a method to reduce scarring after burn injury using pulsed electric field technology.

June 2018

June 13, 2018
New technology could speed hospital work, enhance health care Rutgers researchers have created an automated blood drawing and testing device that provides rapid results, potentially improving the workflow in hospitals and other health-related institutions to allow health care practitioners to spend more time treating patients. A study describing the fully automated device is published online in the journal TECHNOLOGY.
June 1, 2018
Rutgers biomedical engineering assistant professor Ronke Olabisi was awarded prestigious CAREER award by the National Science Foundation. The award is given to early career faculty who show excellence in integrating teaching and research. 

May 2018

May 25, 2018
A TechAdvance award of $92,000 has been granted to a team led by David Shreiber. The funding, which is through the Rutgers Office of Research and Economic Development, is to develop a biomaterial technology for targeted drug delivery. 
May 25, 2018
Howon Lee (MAE) and Joseph Freeman (BME) have developed an approach to 3D-print electroactive hydrogels that can demonstrate reproducible, programmable motions and force. The work appears in ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces.
May 18, 2018
BME Master's student Amin Khalili has been awarded a Henry J. Raimondo Legislative Award from the Eagleton Institute of Politics for 2018-2019.  The award is made possible by support from the New Jersey Legislature and Rutgers University. Eagleton has been awarding these Fellowships since 2000 to honor the memory of Henry J. Raimondo, former associate director and professor at the Eagleton Institute.  
May 15, 2018
Mina Pelegri (MAE) and David Shreiber (BME) from Rutgers and John Georgiadis from the Illinois Institute of Technology have been awarded a 3-year NSF grant for their proposal,  "Collaborative Research: Multiple Scale Biomechanics of Tissue Damage in the White Matter of the Human Central Nervous System." The Rutgers award is for  $332,825.

April 2018

April 10, 2018
On April 3, 2018, Juilee Malavade was awarded the prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. The award provides funding for three years of graduate studies. Juilee will pursue her doctorate in biomedical engineering at Duke University.
April 9, 2018
BME Master’s student Amin Khalili received an Outstanding Leadership Award from the School of Arts and Sciences African, Middle Eastern, and South Asian Languages and Literatures (AMESALL) Department for his efforts towards making a minority population at Rutgers visible both on and off campus during this time of exclusion and marginalization of certain minority groups.