July 2015

July 21, 2015
The Board of Directors of the Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES) announced recently that Professor Prabhas Moghe has been elected as a 2015 BMES Fellow. The celebration of achievement begins with public recognition of the Class of 2015 Fellows during the BMES Annual Meeting which will be held October 7-10, 2015, in Tampa, Florida  
July 8, 2015
A patent was issued to Professor Martin Yarmush, Erkin Seker, and Yevgeny Berdichevsky entitled, “Nanoporous metal multiple electrode array and method of making same” (US Patent # 9,070,492). The invention describes a method for fabricating a low-impedance nanoporous metal multiple electrode array for measuring electrophysiology activity. The resultant nanoporous array has improved impedance characteristics in comparison to conventional multiple electrode arrays.

June 2015

June 25, 2015
BME Professor Francois Berthiaume (left), and his collaborator Professor Martin Yarmush (below) were awarded a 3-year NJ Commission on Spinal Cord Research (NJCSCR) grant for $567,766 for a project entitled, “Nanoparticle-Based Treatment of Pressure Sores in Spinal Cord Injury Patients”. The ultimate goal of this research is to develop new technologies that help heal tissue injuries that arise due to prolonged unrelieved pressure, which is a common complication in individuals who suffered spinal cord injury and are bedridden or confined to a wheelchair.
June 23, 2015
For the twelfth year in a row, articles in the Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering (ARBME) were cited more often than papers in any of its peer journals, according to ISI's 2015 Journal Citation Report, giving it the highest Impact Factor in its peer group. The ARBME had a 2014 Impact Factor of 14.211 placing it #1 in the category "Biomedical Engineering," of 76 journals, and #3 among all engineering journals (915 in total).  Professor Martin Yarmush serves as the founding editor-in-chief of the ARBME which published its first volume in 1999.
June 19, 2015
BME Professor Li Cai (left), and team of collaborators Dr. Martin Grumet (Below: Keck Center for Collaborative Neuroscience) and Dr. Yi Lisa Lyu (Below: RWJ Medical School) were awarded a 3-year NJCSCR grant for $600,000 for a project entitled, “Role of Gsx1 in spinal cord development and neurogenesis after injury”. The research team will determine the role of Gsx1 and other key factors in injury-induced proliferation and differentiation of neural stem cells (NSCs); and the mechanism of NSC gene activation after injury.
June 12, 2015
Professor Martin Yarmush (left), and a team of co-PIs including professors Jeff Zahn (below), Bonnie Firestein (below), and Nada Boustany (below) were awarded a 3-year NSF grant for $422,697 for a project entitled, “Brain-on-a-chip for Traumatic Brain Injury Drug Discovery". These investigators will use the Brain slice-on-a-Chip platform developed in the Yarmush lab to simulate traumatic brain injury, and then examine drug interventions that minimize injury effects.
June 3, 2015
Faculty members Mark Pierce (left-BME) and Waheed Bajwa (below-ECE) have received a $360k / 3-year research grant from the National Science Foundation to pursue a multidisciplinary project entitled “Signal processing – optics co-design for in vivo optical biopsy.” The project will integrate novel approaches in optical imaging hardware and signal processing algorithms to deliver cellular-level images from intact tissue in living patients.

May 2015

May 19, 2015
The Rutgers PhD Program in Biotechnology has been renewed by the NIH National Institutes of General Medical Sciences for a record sixth time (years 26-30). The 5-year award, totaling $1,987,080 provides 10 predoctoral fellowship awards per year. With matching university and industrial support, the program will be hosting 15 meritorious students annually, providing two years of financial support.
May 19, 2015
BME graduate student, Ayesha Aijaz, was awarded a Society of Biomaterials STAR award for her research at the 2015 SFB meeting. The Student Travel Achievement Recognitions (STARs) recognize research excellence and develop future leaders within our Society. Ayesha is advised by Professor Ronke Olabisi.
May 18, 2015
BME Department Administrator Robin Yarborough was one of 70 mentors nominated for the University Career Services "Career Mentor of the Year 2015" program. Robin was nominated because she gives exemplary career service and advice to students. The nomination came from BME class of 2015 undergraduate student Srinidhi Bellamkonda.