March 2013

March 29, 2013
Current first-year graduate students Jennifer Chan and Max Balter were awarded NSF GRF fellowships, which provides tuition and a $30,000 stipend for three years. Two former BME undergraduates were also awarded fellowships: Molly Carroll, now at the University of Wisconsin, and Anthony Kulesa, now at MIT. All BME first-year graduate students were asked to participate in the GradFund summer mentoring program to assist in preparation of essays for external fellowships.
March 21, 2013
Professor Ioannis (Yannis) Androulakis is the recipient of 2013 Outstanding Engineering Faculty Award. This award is an important opportunity for our Engineering community to recognize the special achievements and contributions of its dedicated faculty members. Yannis have been recognized for his contributions. The Engineering Award Ceremony and reception at 4 PM immediately following the April 5th faculty meeting so that SoE colleagues and other members of the Engineering community have the opportunity to recognize Yannis.
March 15, 2013
Previous MD/PHD student, Shannon Agner, has been awarded the Outstanding Achievement in the MD/PhD Program Award for 2013. Shannon completed her PhD under the direction of Professor Anant Madabhushi. She is currently in the process of being placed for her MD.
March 11, 2013
BME PhD Student Nir Nativ has been awarded a Louis A. Bevier Graduate Fellowship for 2013-2014. This is a Graduate School of New Brunswick prestigious fellowship given to advanced PhD students working towards finishing their dissertations. Nir works in the laboratory of Professor Martin Yarmush.
March 7, 2013
BME MS student Dorothy Politis has been awarded a 2013 summer internship at the National Space Biomedical Research Institute (NSBRI) at the NASA Glenn Research Center in Cleveland Ohio. Dorothy will be working on "Improving and testing a predictive model for tracking bone loss in the environment of microgravity" with Dr. Jim Pennline from the Glenn Research Center.
March 5, 2013
Patent US 8,389,700 on "Agent delivery system capable of selectively releasing an agent" has been issued to the team lead by Prof. Noshir Langrana and team members Dr. David Lin and Prof.Bernard Yurke (currently at Boise State University).

February 2013

February 28, 2013
Professor Charles Roth was inducted into the 2013 College of Fellows of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). AIMBE was founded in 1991 and its current vision is to provide leadership and advocacy in medical and biological engineering for the benefit of society. Each year, AIMBE elects Fellows considered to be in the top 2 % of the profession as experts to carry out this mission.
February 20, 2013
BME junior Janice Jeschke has made two journeys overseas promoting health education in Nepal and conducting research in Germany. She searched through multiple organizations and stumbled upon Edge of Seven, a nongovernmental agency, which offered programs in several countries including Nepal. She said she was drawn to Nepal by its mountains, peaceful culture and need for help in rural communities.
February 13, 2013
Dr. William Craelius is the recipient of the QED Innovation Award, 2013, from the University City Science Center in Philadelphia. Craelius' project, Dynawheel™, is a digital health-enabled rehabilitation device for helping people recover from stroke and neuromuscular injuries. The $100K award, along with other resources from the QED program, will be used to bring Dynawheel™ into clinical practice. The project is a collaboration with Dr. Nicki Newby of Nian-Crae, Inc. , who is licensing the product.
February 12, 2013
Research performed in the laboratories of Professors Francois Berthiaume and Martin Yarmush in collaboration with researchers at Araim Pharmaceuticals was recently published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. The collaborative study showed that systemic administration of ARA290 (a peptide from the protein erythropoietin) after burn injury is highly effective in reducing burn wound expansion by preventing microvascular thrombosis and progressive tissue necrosis.